Dfactor
Posts: 215
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 7:14 am

Ridge Racer: Driftopia capture/compatibility issues

Wed Sep 18, 2013 7:32 am

Greetings.
I hope that this would be the correct subforum to post a compatibility report?
I've tried capturing RR:Driftopia (running in DX9) with Bandicam 1.9.0.397 (X264 codec). The game's framerate drops to 15-25 FPS, really choppy and unplayable. After more tests I can say that this isn't a codec issue (same results with X264, CUDA, QuickSync, YV12 and others). The game itself doesn't need much resources, CPU activity is always around 13-14%. Changing CPU affinity or priorities didn't help (giving the game 2 cores, bandicam 6 cores). CPU activity while capturing is around 20%. Tried capturing with different capture software, that worked fine. So I'm guessing the problem is on Bandicam's end?

My specs:
Windows 7, 64-bit
i7-3770 @ 4.3GHz, HT enabled
ASRock Z77 Pro3
16GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
MSI GTX660

User avatar
Bandicam Company
Site Admin
Posts: 6544
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 12:19 pm

Re: Ridge Racer: Driftopia capture/compatibility issues

Tue Sep 24, 2013 4:58 pm

Hi,

We've tried Ridge Racer: Driftopia.

What is the resolution of the video you recorded through Bandicam? (Video Size)
- We could get around 15-25 FPS with 2560 x 1600 video resolution.
- We could get over 40-50 FPS with 1280 x 720 video resolution.

If the video resolution is higher than 1080p, Bandicam can be lagging because Bandicam has to compress the bigger video file.


Related FAQ
http://www.bandicam.com/faqs/how_to_red ... recording/

Dfactor
Posts: 215
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 7:14 am

Re: Ridge Racer: Driftopia capture/compatibility issues

Thu Sep 26, 2013 2:03 am

Greetings.
I've tried capturing the game running at 1920x1080p.
The framerate drops even at the menu (when there's barely any action on screen). It also drops when using lossless compression methods that shouldn't stress the system.
The thing that bothers me is that I've captured triple A games running in 1920x1080p/60fps on Ultra, while it seems like I won't be able to capture RRD. Lowering the resolution to 720p gives only 1-3 fps boost (~23fps).

User avatar
Bandicam Company
Site Admin
Posts: 6544
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 12:19 pm

Re: Ridge Racer: Driftopia capture/compatibility issues

Thu Sep 26, 2013 12:41 pm

The thing that bothers me is that I've captured triple A games running in 1920x1080p/60fps on Ultra

If you change the FPS from 60 to 30, you will get enough FPS.

Related FAQ
http://www.bandicam.com/faqs/how_to_red ... recording/

Dfactor
Posts: 215
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 7:14 am

Re: Ridge Racer: Driftopia capture/compatibility issues

Thu Sep 26, 2013 11:47 pm

Tried testing 60v30 in the menu. Still drops to 16.
I've been recording games since 2008, I know what I'm doing. In any case. I've made a comparison video.
The video has been converted to 1920x1080p, 30fps.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WB-Q64OLwjA
Here's the timestamps and some benchmark reports.
00:00 Bandicam. X264 codec, 1920x1080p, 60fps. Min: 13FPS / Avg: 14~20FPS / Max: 22FPS
01:51 Bandicam. X264 codec, 1920x1080p, 30fps. Min: 13FPS / Avg: 14~20FPS / Max: 22FPS Identical results.
03:40 Bandicam. X264 codec, 1280x720p, 30fps. Min: 20FPS / Avg: 23FPS / Max: 30FPS (no lock/cap)
05:26 Bandicam. YV12 codec, 1280x720p, 30fps. Min: 20FPS / Avg: 23FPS / Max: 33FPS
07:24 Other software. FPS1, 1920x1080p, 60fps. Min: 57FPS / AVG: 60FPS / Max: 61FPS

I can admit that 720p gives better results, but the difference isn't that big.
YV12 and FPS1 are close resource-wise, so that can only mean that it's not my system's fault. Turning watermark on/off doesn't affect the performance either.
I might also ask the developers if this whole issues is because of the game's engine.

User avatar
Bandicam Company
Site Admin
Posts: 6544
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 12:19 pm

Re: Ridge Racer: Driftopia capture/compatibility issues

Fri Sep 27, 2013 3:07 pm

We will release Bandicam 1.9.1 in a week.

Please try it again with the next version of Bandicam.
(We have improved the recording ability of DirectX 9.)

Dfactor
Posts: 215
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 7:14 am

Re: Ridge Racer: Driftopia capture/compatibility issues

Wed Oct 09, 2013 7:22 am

Tested with 1.9.1. Issue is still there.
But thanks for the update anyway.

Return to “Bandicam - General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests