Lightlyrow
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2015 3:33 pm

Bandicam Needs UAC/Admin Access

Fri Jun 19, 2015 3:39 pm

Hello! My Bandicam installation needs UAC/Admin Access.

I want to make this so that just Bandicam (not any other programs) doesn't need it.

The Task Scheduler isn't working for me. It says the service is not available.

Does using CACLS or ICACLS work? If it does, please tell me how to do it!

Thanks.

User avatar
GameTipsAndMore Blog
Posts: 447
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 12:39 am
Location: Canada
Contact: Website

Re: Bandicam Needs UAC/Admin Access

Sat Jun 20, 2015 8:27 pm

Lightlyrow wrote:Hello! My Bandicam installation needs UAC/Admin Access.

I want to make this so that just Bandicam (not any other programs) doesn't need it.

The Task Scheduler isn't working for me. It says the service is not available.

Does using CACLS or ICACLS work? If it does, please tell me how to do it!

Thanks.


If I may pop in and try to assist, I'm a little unclear on what you mean by "doesn't need it"...

If you mean make it so that Bandicam 'doesn't need Admin access', I don't think that's possible. I'm not a Programmer or Developer or Bandicam, but it seems, the way that Bandicam 'hooks onto' programs and captures your keystrokes, and writes to the hard drive off and on, it would require Windows Authorization to do all of these things 'automatically' as it runs. I could be wrong, but I believe it needs Authorization to work properly, performing all the capabilities it has.

If you mean 'allow Bandicam access automatically but no other programs', there is a way to do that - it just takes a few steps to set it up. I assume you have looked at this, since you mention the Task Scheduler.
To see if it helps, here are the steps to open the Task Scheduler (perhaps you were attempting to open it in a different way (there are a lot of ways to do the same thing in Windows)):
http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/schedule-task#1TC=windows-7
(Just use the steps to open the Task Scheduler, for now, if you want)
And here are some example steps for setting up the Account Control:
http://lifehacker.com/how-to-eliminate-uac-prompts-for-specific-applications-493128966
(You can use these steps for just Bandicam if you want, as it seems that is what you want to do)
And here are some alternate ways to do the same thing (if you are having trouble with Task Scheduler):
http://www.raymond.cc/blog/task-schedul ... ac-prompt/

Hopefully I understood correctly and these steps help to start you off. Good luck with it!
("Hope That Helps!") ~ Troy

jmqm
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2015 12:26 am

Re: Bandicam Needs UAC/Admin Access

Mon Jun 22, 2015 1:46 pm

Correct!

Bandicam requires administrator privileges to write on the drive you want! The admin rights is coded in the application, so you can't make it run as anything else.

Source - I'm a programmer

Lightlyrow
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2015 3:33 pm

Re: Bandicam Needs UAC/Admin Access

Mon Jun 22, 2015 3:00 pm

jmqm wrote:Correct!

Bandicam requires administrator privileges to write on the drive you want! The admin rights is coded in the application, so you can't make it run as anything else.


My dad thinks that @GameTipsAndMore is probably correct (although he doesn't think that disk is the problem - its more likely to be the screen/keyboard/audio etc that's the issue; nothing else needs admin to write to the disk :)).

Also, unless we missed something in an hour of experiments, the Task Scheduler "fixes" only work if the user running Bandicam has Administrator permissions in the first place.

Return to “Bandicam - General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 22 guests