Sirio
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2015 6:32 pm

Test H.264 CPU Codec

Wed Aug 26, 2015 5:47 am

I'm running tests of the new H.264 encoding format based on CPU and I like it Advanced Video Codec natively, since my graphics card does not support hardware encoding.

But I am surprised that the difference between optimization options leaves much to be desired, I tried the 3 options with a game and these are the results.

H264-cpu.jpg
H264-cpu.jpg (54.68 KiB) Viewed 3281 times

• Format Playgame: 1024x768px
• Graphic Card: AMD Radeon HD6450 1gb GDDR5
• Framerate: 30fps
• Format: Advanced Video Codec
• Profile: Baseline Level 3.1 and Main Level 3.1
• Color Space: YUV, 4:2:0, 8 bits

Optimization Bitrates
• Faster Encoding Speed: 9195 Kbps (Baseline@L3.1)
• Balanced Performance: 4355 Kbps (Baseline@L3.1)
• Smaller File Size: 3442 Kbps (Main@L3.1)
* The data were extracted from the utility MediaTab

I wonder if there is any possibility of increasing the bit rate in the options or if possible improve to add Baseline Level 4 to 20Mbps.

My Cordial Greetings

master_pat
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2015 12:03 pm

Re: Test H.264 CPU Codec

Wed Aug 26, 2015 8:24 pm

What CPU do you have?

Sirio
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2015 6:32 pm

Re: Test H.264 CPU Codec

Wed Aug 26, 2015 11:42 pm

My CPU is AMD Phenom 2 X2 555 Black Edition 2 core.
Memory: Kingston DDR3 6Gb

User avatar
GameTipsAndMore Blog
Posts: 447
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 12:39 am
Location: Canada
Contact: Website

Re: Test H.264 CPU Codec

Sat Sep 12, 2015 2:50 am

If I may pop in, I think they were merely trying to go for simplicity for the User, making it easier for the average recorder.

Sure, they can put in settings for Deblocking, Motion Estimation and Partition configuration and analysis options; but it may be too overwhelming for many. If you really wanted to play with the nitty-gritty of H.264/AVC settings, did you know you can use the x264 interface as an "External Codec" in Bandicam? You have to use the AVI container/wrapper, but if you don't mind that and have no problem with it, you can try that, if you want to. Thanks for sharing your findings though, I was just attempting to explain a possible reason why it wasn't included.

May I ask, how was the performance for you, with the three settings? Doing some testing with it, I am finding that I get poor performance on the 'Smaller' setting and even choppy-ness on the 'Balanced setting', especially at 1080p. Just curious if it was all working nice-and-fast for you, heh.

CPU: AMD FX-8350
RAM: Patriot Viper 16GB
("Hope That Helps!") ~ Troy

Return to “Bandicam - General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests