mclosi
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 12:25 am

No image from VHS machine

Mon Sep 05, 2016 12:27 am

Hi all, new to Bandicam but have successfully captured many camcorder videos recently but now have some old VHS tapes that I would like to do. However when i go to capture it all i have is a black screen. I have audio from the VHS but no visual. I assume there is a setting i need tweak? Can anyone help me please?

mclosi
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 12:25 am

Re: No image from VHS machine

Mon Sep 05, 2016 4:41 am

Ok, oddly I just tried again and I had an image but it was greyscale. Now i am trying again and I have no image again? Please can any one advise why this may be?

mclosi
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 12:25 am

Re: No image from VHS machine

Mon Sep 05, 2016 5:12 am

Ok, so i now can always get an image but its always black and white. Help please :o)

User avatar
Bandicam Company
Site Admin
Posts: 6041
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 12:19 pm

Re: No image from VHS machine

Mon Sep 05, 2016 11:20 am

Hello!

1. Do you use a capture card to record old VHS tapes?
If you use a capture card, please try the 'Device Recording Mode' of Bandicam.
Refer to https://www.bandicam.com/how-to/video-capture/

2. Which media player do you use?
Please try VLC media player and record the video while it is playing through Bandicam.

3. Please also try the 'Game Recording Mode' of Bandicam.
Refer to https://www.bandicam.com/how-to/game-recorder/


For more information, visit https://www.bandicam.com/faqs/black_scr ... eo_problem

mclosi
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 12:25 am

Re: No image from VHS machine

Tue Sep 06, 2016 12:37 am

Hi, im using a Easy Cap usb device. http://www.lightinthebox.com/usb-video- ... AqW48P8HAQ

It works fine when recording from the camcorder but seems to go black and white through the VCR.
I use the Device recording mode for both.
VLC just shows a black screen if try and do device capture.
game mode does nothing.

###### Update, VLC shows the image in black and white as well, so its not Bandicam. any advice as to what it might be? Could it be the drover for my easycap device?

davidinark
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2016 10:45 pm

Re: No image from VHS machine

Sun Sep 11, 2016 10:47 pm

Have you tried using the Window record option instead of device mode? Set your VHS window to as large as you can without going full screen. Then set the window size to match your video playback size.

mclosi
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 12:25 am

Re: No image from VHS machine

Mon Sep 12, 2016 9:35 pm

Thanks for your help, I ended up buying a new device to capture the videos and that has helped.

Return to “Bandicam - General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot] and 20 guests