vasouv
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2013 5:14 pm

Can I use dedicated GPU to help in recording?

Sat Dec 09, 2017 5:24 am

Good evening! Couple of weeks ago I got my "new" laptop where I plan to record my screen and voide while I program.

It has an Intel i3-4010U, Intel HD 4400, Nvidia 840M and 16GB of RAM.

The codecs I see when I select to record in MP4 are H264 (Quick Sync), H264 (CPU) and MPEG-4. When I record, it uses the CPU as usual recording does.

Is there anyway to make my Nvidia GPU help in the recording? Use that instead of the CPU? Or delegate the on-the-fly compression to the GPU?

GameTipsAndMore Blog
Posts: 447
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 12:39 am
Location: Canada
Contact: Website

Re: Can I use dedicated GPU to help in recording?

Sun Dec 10, 2017 4:41 am

If I may try to answer, I believe that while the HD 4400 is "accelerated" (which is the Quick Sync capability), the 840M is not the more powerful GTX variant. Unfortunately, this GTX hardware version is required for NVIDIA's accelerated ('dedicated') GPU recording, which can then utilize NVENC/CUDA/etc.

For your system, QuickSync will be the 'fastest' type of recording available, it seems - unless you get a discrete/separate GPU add-on of some type, such as an eGPU (external/plugged-in GPU). Then you will see the NVIDIA/NVENC options come up.

QuickSync however, is still 'accelerated' and should give decent performance for recording, at the resolutions that the laptop's GPU is capable of (around 1280x720 or 1366x768).

HTH
("Hope That Helps!") ~ Troy

User avatar
Bandicam Company
Site Admin
Posts: 6743
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 12:19 pm

Re: Can I use dedicated GPU to help in recording?

Tue Dec 12, 2017 3:14 pm

Hello vasouv,

Your graphics card seems to support CUDA.
https://www.geforce.com/hardware/notebo ... ifications

Please refer to the following page and try using CUDA on Bandicam.

https://www.bandicam.com/support/tips/nvidia-cuda/

Thank you.

vasouv
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2013 5:14 pm

Re: Can I use dedicated GPU to help in recording?

Wed Dec 13, 2017 3:40 am

Thank you both for the answers!

I will try with the CUDA tutorial you provided and if it doesn't work it's OK, using the Quick Sync option GameTipsAndMore suggested is giving me great recordings! In FullHD too! It seems this i3 is delivering quite nicely!

I will follow up with whether the CUDA tutorial works or not though :)

vasouv
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2013 5:14 pm

Re: Can I use dedicated GPU to help in recording?

Mon Dec 18, 2017 1:42 am

Yeah it works :)

GameTipsAndMore Blog
Posts: 447
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 12:39 am
Location: Canada
Contact: Website

Re: Can I use dedicated GPU to help in recording?

Mon Dec 18, 2017 1:55 am

Yeah it works :)
Yay! :mrgreen:
~Troy

User avatar
Bandicam Company
Site Admin
Posts: 6743
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 12:19 pm

Re: Can I use dedicated GPU to help in recording?

Mon Dec 18, 2017 3:29 pm

Hello vasouv,

We're glad to hear it worked!
Thank you for your response.

vasouv
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2013 5:14 pm

Re: Can I use dedicated GPU to help in recording?

Tue Feb 27, 2018 9:28 pm

I'm back :D

It turns out using the CPU yields much better quality, when recording with NVidia I have lots of blurriness and artifacts scrolling up and down in the browser. (disregarding the blurriness when playing back from dropbox)

cpu

nvidia

I certainly don't mind using the CPU setting, but I'm wondering why this might be happening.

And there's such a big difference in the file size, the CPU one is considerably larger than the NVidia one.

Return to “Bandicam - General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 26 guests