Location of Temp/Working Folder?

General talk and peer-to-peer support about Bandicut.

Location of Temp/Working Folder?

Postby davidinark » Mon Apr 03, 2017 6:31 pm

I moved my TEMP folder to my SSD. I also set the environment variables to point to that folder. When I am have edited (cut) videos (especially in fast mode), though, the system seems to be accessing my regular HDD. Is there a way to force Bandicut to use the SSD?

Thanks!
davidinark
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2016 8:45 am

Re: Location of Temp/Working Folder?

Postby Zuzu_Typ » Tue Apr 04, 2017 7:08 am

hey davidnark,

I know, this doesn't answer your question, but why don't you move your operating system over to your SSD instead (note: You probably shouldn't do this if your SSD is smaller or equal to 64GB)? That would offer a way bigger boost in performance (especially in the boot department).

Actually I don't see why moving the temp folder would give you any performance boost whatsoever... even if you were talking about the pagefile, which apparently you aren't...

Usually SSDs offer their own utility to move your os over to it, otherwise reinstalling Windows also works. I would suggest you to search for the benefits of having your OS stored on your SSD online, so you don't have to rely on one single opinion. I'll say this much, it is totally worth it.
Thank you for reading my post. I hope you understand my "English".
I'm the German translator for some of Bandisoft's products and websites
(mostly Bandicut and Honeycam).
User avatar
Zuzu_Typ
 
Posts: 340
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2014 8:26 am
Location: Germany,Lowersaxony


Return to Bandicut - General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest