sambul85
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 8:39 am

Re: Framerate Mismatch on Desktop Recording

Sun Mar 29, 2015 3:24 am

Did you try to play with MP4 format options? Bandicam saves into very small MP4 files, so its MP4 codec settings are optimized for faster encoding speed and small file size on a low end PC. It does provide some options though in MP4 output settings you can change. The codec may analyze input quality real time and optimally drop data that doesn't add much to output pic quality, for example when capturing static scenes. The numbers aren't everything, you need to compare MP4 video quality, and keep in mind file size trade-off.

Dfactor
Posts: 215
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 7:14 am

Re: Framerate Mismatch on Desktop Recording

Sun Mar 29, 2015 5:27 am

Did you try to play with MP4 format options? Bandicam saves into very small MP4 files, so its MP4 codec settings are optimized for faster encoding speed and small file size on a low end PC. It does provide some options though in MP4 output settings you can change. The codec may analyze input quality real time and optimally drop data that doesn't add much to output pic quality, for example when capturing static scenes. The numbers aren't everything, you need to compare MP4 video quality, and keep in mind file size trade-off.
You're forgetting that MP4 is a container and does not exactly dictate quality or size.

I never use(d) MP4 as I prefer AVI for editing. I've tried feeding it an almost stable 60fps source and the results were identical to AVI.

Code: Select all

General
Complete name : H:\rerev2 2015-03-28 22-07-51-789.mp4
Format : MPEG-4
Format profile : Base Media
Codec ID : isom
File size : 3.87 GiB
Duration : 2mn 50s
Overall bit rate mode : Variable
Overall bit rate : 195 Mbps
Encoded date : UTC 2015-03-28 20:07:51
Tagged date : UTC 2015-03-28 20:07:51
Writing application : BandiMp4Muxer 1.0

Video
ID : 1
Format : AVC
Format/Info : Advanced Video Codec
Format profile : Main@L4.2
Format settings, CABAC : Yes
Format settings, ReFrames : 1 frame
Codec ID : avc1
Codec ID/Info : Advanced Video Coding
Duration : 2mn 50s
Bit rate : 195 Mbps
Width : 1 920 pixels
Height : 1 080 pixels
Display aspect ratio : 16:9
Frame rate mode : Variable
Frame rate : 59.584 fps
Original frame rate : 60.000 fps
Minimum frame rate : 15.000 fps
Maximum frame rate : 60.060 fps
Color space : YUV
Chroma subsampling : 4:2:0
Bit depth : 8 bits
Scan type : Progressive
Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 1.576
Stream size : 3.87 GiB (100%)
Language : English
Encoded date : UTC 2015-03-28 20:07:51
Tagged date : UTC 2015-03-28 20:07:51

Audio
ID : 2
Format : AAC
Format/Info : Advanced Audio Codec
Format profile : LC
Codec ID : 40
Duration : 2mn 50s
Bit rate mode : Variable
Bit rate : 192 Kbps
Maximum bit rate : 306 Kbps
Channel(s) : 2 channels
Channel positions : Front: L R
Sampling rate : 48.0 KHz
Compression mode : Lossy
Stream size : 3.95 MiB (0%)
Language : English
Encoded date : UTC 2015-03-28 20:07:51
Tagged date : UTC 2015-03-28 20:07:51
The framerate was correct and so was the playback. AVI container will show that it's 60fps even if most of the frames were dropped.

So the question here is... is the playback correct? If there's no activity on the screen then the duped frames can simply be dropped. Lastly, if AVI also drops a lot of frames (can be checked in such software as VirtualDub) then it's not a container issue at all.

Lastly, I captured a 1440p60 desktop/browser that was playing a 60fps video.

Code: Select all

General
Complete name : H:\bandicam 2015-03-28 22-21-47-779.mp4
Format : MPEG-4
Format profile : Base Media
Codec ID : isom
File size : 49.7 MiB
Duration : 1mn 16s
Overall bit rate mode : Variable
Overall bit rate : 5 441 Kbps
Encoded date : UTC 2015-03-28 20:21:47
Tagged date : UTC 2015-03-28 20:21:47
Writing application : BandiMp4Muxer 1.0

Video
ID : 1
Format : AVC
Format/Info : Advanced Video Codec
Format profile : Main@L5.1
Format settings, CABAC : Yes
Format settings, ReFrames : 1 frame
Codec ID : avc1
Codec ID/Info : Advanced Video Coding
Duration : 1mn 16s
Bit rate : 5 237 Kbps
Width : 2 560 pixels
Height : 1 440 pixels
Display aspect ratio : 16:9
Frame rate mode : Variable
Frame rate : 54.304 fps
Original frame rate : 60.000 fps
Minimum frame rate : 20.000 fps
Maximum frame rate : 60.060 fps
Color space : YUV
Chroma subsampling : 4:2:0
Bit depth : 8 bits
Scan type : Progressive
Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 0.026
Stream size : 47.8 MiB (96%)
Language : English
Encoded date : UTC 2015-03-28 20:21:47
Tagged date : UTC 2015-03-28 20:21:47

Audio
ID : 2
Format : AAC
Format/Info : Advanced Audio Codec
Format profile : LC
Codec ID : 40
Duration : 1mn 16s
Duration_LastFrame : -1ms
Bit rate mode : Variable
Bit rate : 192 Kbps
Maximum bit rate : 292 Kbps
Channel(s) : 2 channels
Channel positions : Front: L R
Sampling rate : 48.0 KHz
Compression mode : Lossy
Stream size : 1.78 MiB (4%)
Language : English
Encoded date : UTC 2015-03-28 20:21:47
Tagged date : UTC 2015-03-28 20:21:47
The footage was still captured correctly.

sambul85
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 8:39 am

Re: Framerate Mismatch on Desktop Recording

Sun Mar 29, 2015 6:32 am

You're forgetting that MP4 is a container and does not exactly dictate quality or size.
I'm not OP, and neither forget anything. Your post complements mine, despite you try for some reason to make it look like you say something different.

Bandicam has on-purpose simplified GUI, and Video Settings show Codec MPEG-4 (i.e. container, while MPEG4 AVC - codec), with limited options to change. Your last capture shows frame rate variation 20 to 60 fps, and its
either codec or hardware controlled based on whether extra frames carry additional payload useful for the codec or on-screen video quality. It sounds normal for static scenes. Important is output quality, not merely the file media info. ;)

If the OP doesn't like the output file playback quality or file size seems to be too large, and he can't change it by limited codec controls via Bandicam UI, that may require some digging. Otherwise its largely irrelevant what MediaInfo shows for fps. Comparison video may help to see if any problem exists.

cool_recep
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2015 9:34 pm

Re: Framerate Mismatch on Desktop Recording

Sun Mar 29, 2015 6:53 am

I had a lot of problems. Turned out to be audio was cut in the end... Sound and the video did not match in Premiere Pro... Total crap...

Any official support ? Ticket system ?

Dfactor
Posts: 215
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 7:14 am

Re: Framerate Mismatch on Desktop Recording

Sun Mar 29, 2015 7:03 am

'm not OP, and neither forget anything.
The first line was directed towards your "Bandicam saves into very small MP4 files, so its MP4 codec settings are optimized for faster encoding speed and small file size on a low end PC".

The rest is directed towards OP.
And to OP again. You already got reply from the staff that the codec will drop frames if the screen isn't moving.
You can also e-mail them directly.

sambul85
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 8:39 am

Re: Framerate Mismatch on Desktop Recording

Sun Mar 29, 2015 7:07 am

It turns out to be your shitload of software cuts the video at the end beacuse it can not sync the fucking frame rate!
Turned out to be audio was cut in the end... Sound and the video did not match in Premiere Pro...
:roll:

Bandicam is primarily a GUI with some optimization presets. Encoding and multiplexing is done by installed with it or OS provided encoders you choose and muxer. It may be a good idea to offer some manual settings in the GUI for audio delay. Some playback software can't handle properly Variable Video Frame Rate resulting in audio syncing problems.

Why doesn't Adobe Premiere handle variable frame rate video? Bandicam may need a setting to record at constant frame rate, but it may increase recorded file size. Did you read this: Bandicam - Best settings for Adobe Premiere?
Last edited by sambul85 on Mon Mar 30, 2015 4:09 am, edited 14 times in total.

cool_recep
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2015 9:34 pm

Re: Framerate Mismatch on Desktop Recording

Sun Mar 29, 2015 7:15 am

What ? Same shit different story. My point is that either video, or audio was cut in the end and it was both incomlete and out of sync. Jeez!

sambul85
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 8:39 am

Re: Framerate Mismatch on Desktop Recording

Sun Mar 29, 2015 10:34 pm

It turns out to be your shitload of software... I have a god damn licensed crapware that needs technical supooooooort.
I also have some issues with Bandicam if you care to read the forum, but to be fare it offers a working trial with some restrictions not relevant to above issue. Why didn't you try it for your tasks before buying, and also do some web research (see above)? One work around that comes to mind is to record the game to RGB24&PCM, and than re-encode to MP4 with an external encoder.

Also, your language and the way to address issues pisses off other forum members. What I'd like to hear is Bandicam's support view on why it can record only with variable frame rate - any advantages and tech details?

anja
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2015 1:06 am

Re: Framerate Mismatch on Desktop Recording

Mon Mar 30, 2015 6:52 am

Hi sambul,
agree with your kind of view - I have been stupid too :-( bought before visiting this forum - didn't find time to use trial version because of urgent job - wanted a fair price desktop screen recorder to use with my video editing program, PowerDirector 11, where my Projects use 50fps and PAL (Denmark). I'm producing my videose in m2ts files (mp4).
In future I might work with 4k and 3D videoes options which the program provides.
Still my problem is I can't get the MP4 files generated by Bandicam to Work in the video editing program even if I choose settings in Bandicam that match the editing program. If I managed to import the MP4 file Iget a frame rate conflict plus other problems, please see my former post.
just, all I want is some help to solve the problem so it will end with - happy editing :-)

sambul85
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 8:39 am

Re: Framerate Mismatch on Desktop Recording

Mon Mar 30, 2015 8:52 am

Hi anja,

Miracles seldom happen. Bandicam is popular for lower size capture files it writes at lower CPU load. But it comes with a price - it seems to use older xvid encoder rather than H264 for MP4 files. If that was your priority at buy time, here we go. Other capture programs are available possibly more suitable for your task, but they may require a bit more research and involvement from you. Another solution for PowerDirector is given in this thread.

Of course you can ask the company to allow users select more advanced MP4 codecs in GUI, but H264 comes with higher CPU load, especially on older PCs without GPU hardware encoding acceleration. So if a user selects that codec, he may get slower choppy ride, and again start screaming "Bandicam is no more". :lol:
Last edited by sambul85 on Tue Mar 31, 2015 12:43 am, edited 1 time in total.

Return to “Bandicam - General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 77 guests